September 17, 2019

Join Us for This Fall for Memoir Magic (2 Offerings You Don’t Want to Miss)

Join us for Memoir Magic this fall on September 13th for a full day of inspiration and learning, featuring New York Times best-selling author Lidia Yuknavitch (The Chronology of Water), and for our 4-week class on Dani Shapiro’s runaway bestseller, Inheritance. Register today for one or both classes. Save $49 when you register for both.

*We always record all our classes. If you have to miss you’ll get the recordings automatically.

A DAY OF MEMOIR MAGIC

Early-bird: $149

THE LINE-UP
• 10am PT/1pm ET: Opening the Door to the Magic, with Linda Joy Myers

• 11am PT/2pm ET: Narrative Arc and the Development of YOU, with Brooke Warner

• Noon PT/3pm ET: How to Write Beyond the Play-By-Play to Touch Your Readers’ Hearts, with Lidia Yuknavitch

• 1pm PT/4pm ET—The Many Paths to Your Publishing Dream, with Regina Brooks

• 2pm PT/5pm ET: Writing for Love and Money, with Jane Friedman

Read more about the featured teachers HERE.

WHAT MADE INHERITANCE A BEST-SELLING MEMOIR?
4-week class: MONDAYS: Sept 16-Oct 7
Early bird: $99

This 4-week course focuses on what memoirists can learn from Dani Shapiro’s take on writing what you know, circling your obsessions, and finding your truth in your unique voice. We will focus on the power of universal writing, supporting your reader to feel and experience your story as their own, and how to weave narration (and narrative voice) between the past and the present.

BROOKE & LINDA JOY DISCUSS INHERITANCE:

LEARN MORE and/or REGISTER TODAY.

 

Write Your Memoir with Support and Accountability

goals for new yearWhen you decide to write a memoir, you begin a journey into the heart of who you are. You draw upon memories, desires, imagination, and writing techniques to paint a picture of your life, or a portion of your life. You start down the long and winding path toward becoming a writer, and eventually a published author. Published author—yes! This is the goal of most memoir writers. You may want to learn from your story, or even settle some old scores (internally and externally), but mostly, as a memoirist, you want to share your wisdom and your story—if only you can get it done! That is the challenge.

As coaches and writers ourselves, we know that good, consistent writing emerges and blossoms with structure, accountability, and encouragement. These are the cornerstones of Write Your Memoir in Six Months. You and a cohort of eleven other memoirists will embark upon a journey together that will culminate in the book you’ve been wanting, needing, and longing to write.

We treat the process of writing a memoir like the journey it is. You will encounter three stages—the excitement of getting started; the muddy middle where you may encounter a few snarls and saboteurs; and the long-range view to the end, when you’re weaving all the pieces together and the finish line is in sight.

Here are the five things we believe any memoirist needs for this journey:

1. Consistency—your body in front of the computer regularly (daily for a short time is ideal).
2. Accountability—someone who’s expecting you to deliver on what you want for yourself.
3. Goals—when you have goals, you’ll know when you reach them.
4. Guts—the sheer determination to write and write, consult, edit, rethink, and write some more.
5. Patience—it takes time to write a book. But you only can do it one sentence at a time.

We are two passionate memoir advocates who have coached hundreds of authors through the completion of their manuscripts and all the way to publication. In this course, you’ll be met with support each step of the way—getting your fill of craft and technique, as well as the necessary emotional support that a journey like this requires.